Cauliflower Pizza

I cannot believe it’s taken me this long to make a cauliflower base pizza. Altho I have in the past used broccoli as a pizza base but it came out a bit soggy in the middle and I ended up having to eat it with a knife and fork. I guess after so many years of eating clean and I suppose you’d say a ‘paleo based’ diet, I gave up trying to re- create things like burger buns, spaghetti, bases etc because they were so time consuming. Gone are the days I spiralize zuchinni under bolognese. Now I just have a cup of extra veg underneath. 

But moving on… I’ve seen countless recipes online for these cauliflower pizza bases and they all seem to be 

1) full of cheese (like a cup or more)

2) have 3 or more whole eggs

3) seem really time consuming and fidgety.

But I put that aside and decided I’ll just buy some cauliflower and give what I think might work a go. Well, first go turned out perfect. I’m so happy!! 

Recipe

  • 1/2 head of cauliflower 
  • 1 egg + 2 whites
  • 2 tsp psyllium husk
  • 2 tsp Chia seeds.

Directions

Chop cauliflower into florets and Blitz in a food processor until it’s like rice.

Move to a bowl and microwave on medium for 4 minutes. 

Allow to cool enough to handle, and ring all the excess water out, using a clean kitchen Towel or nut bag.

Leave the cauliflower in the fridge to cool completely. 

Return cauliflower to the food processor and add the whole egg, egg whites, and psyllium. Blend until well combined. Then stir in Chia seeds. 

Tip out onto a lined baking tray and bake at 180°C fan bake for 20 minutes. 

One thought on “Cauliflower Pizza

Leave a Reply

