Chickpea flatbread

I’m going to sound a little silly here but I purchased a bag of raw chickpeas unknowingly..

Rummaging around in the local supermarket here in Malaysia, all these different nuts and fruits and spices.. I found a little bag that I thought looked interesting.. thinking they were some kind of nut I could sprinkle over granola..

Facepalm when I realised they were chickpeas. Not that that’s a bad thing but I had no idea what to do with raw chickpeas. I’ve only ever used canned, and even then only once, to make cookie dough. (Ohh raw chickpeas cookie dough 👌👌👌) anyway.. I’m terrible with cooling and baking to be honest. I’m impatient and I like to make things that are quick and not so time consuming. If a dinner takes an hour to prepare, it ain’t happening in my house. Unless it’s your birthday or something..

Anyway after a few weeks of wondering what I’m going to do with these chickpeas I decided to throw them in my blender and make flour and go from there… I ended up making the simplest flat bread and it was gone in less than 24 hours.  Eaten on its own, or topped with healthy toppings… or made into pizza for my husband with grilled cheese and all the rest on top. It’s easy and versatile and I can’t wait to make it again.

RECIPE

1 cup of chickpea flour

1 cup water

2 TBS olive oil

S+P to taste

** any add ins you like for flavour.  This time I used 1/4 tsp garlic powder and 1 tsp dried basil

Mix chickpea flour and water together in a dish and leave to soak at room temperature for atleast 2 hours.

Heat oven to 230°C

Stir in oil, s+p, and any herbs or spices you like.. Tumeric would be great too!

Press in to a greased loaf or pie dish. I had mine less than 1cm thick. Allow to cool before removing.

3 thoughts on “Chickpea flatbread

    1. Haha they do. My first thought was Oh these are interesting looking nuts, I’ll buy a bag and see what I can create. Well I bought chickpeas and made bread…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

