Life in a new country

I’ve moved country twice now. (And will again in a few years) I always get the “how did you do it” “Oh, you’re so brave” truth is its never really been a big thing for me. I don’t know If it’s my coping mechanism or what, cause I can be a real stress head sometimes… OK alot of the time. But over seas travel, or moving country, it’s like second nature to me, like it’s normal. I LOVE it!!! It excites the hell out of me but it’s also normal for me.

Maybe because we moved around alot when I was a kid. Always in the same city, but we moved house alot. Maybe that why relocation has never been stressful? I’m not sure. Either way I’m so greatful to have had the opportunity to experience not only traveling and visiting countries but to experience living in different countries. My first move was from new Zealand to Australia when I was 19. I moved on my own but I knew a few people living in aus so it wasn’t so scary. And there was no real culture shock.  Just excitement of being in a new place. I lived there for 9 years and I will forever hold that place as “home” in my heart. 

Malaysia.. this over came very left of field.and very sudden. And the decision had to be made pretty quick as it was a move for my husbands work.

The opportunity sounded amazing and I jumped at the chance to experience life in another country.

This time is hugely different. I’m not working, the language is different, the culture is different, the food is different. Again I’m so greatful for the experience but it takes its toll sometimes. 

I knew that amongst all the excitement and adventure I would have the odd sad day. I mentally prepared myself for that before leaving Australia. I miss my friends and family, I miss my dog! 

Last week for me was a right emotional rollercoaster. I cried some ugly tears. But 2 months in I’m feeling ok. I’m booking tickets home for a visit in a couple of months to get my friend/family/dog fix and then I should be good for another few months.

It’s all still very new to me here but thank God for the little things. Like finding a grocery shop in town that sells familiar foods and products. Little things like this help keep me sane.

I’ve also met some amazing girls here. And it helps that we are all in the same boat. And all go through the same waves of emotion here. I don’t know what I would do without my girlfriends ✌

Leave a Reply

